Exhibitions Archive

  • Gallery 2:
    'Graphics Interchange Format:
    25 Years of Focal Point Gallery'
  • 21 July to 17 October 2015

‘Graphics Interchange Format: 25 Years of Focal Point Gallery’ is a multi-screen installation showcasing a collection made up of hundreds of GIF animations.

GIF (Graphics Interchange Format) is a technology that has been in use for around twenty-five years, it was developed as an early method of compressing digital images for distribution through the internet.

As part of the gallery’s twenty-fifth anniversary celebrations, we have invited every artist who has exhibited or worked with FPG over this period to create one or more GIFs. The collection can be continually added to, and will eventually be archived on the gallery’s new website, launching in 2016.

The installation now features a specially commissioned soundtrack by British composer Matt Rogers.

Participating artists include:

Stephen Sutcliffe, Jamie George, Jeremy Deller, Giorgio Sadotti, Sophie Sleigh-Johnson, Kate Lepper, Simon Biggs, Suzanne Treister, Calvin Laing, Mat Do, James Bowen, Stuart Bowditch, Josh Langan, Fraser Muggeridge Studio, Mike Nelson, Clunie Reid, Benjamin Noys, Jennifer West, Milly Thompson, Renee Vaughan Sutherland, Damien Robinson, Tomoya Matsuzaki, David Charlesworth, Simon Davenport, Zarah Hussain, Bridget Smith, Liz Rideal, Ruth Hazel, Rut Blees Luxemberg, Rick Buckley, Raphael Linsi, Rachel McGivern, Rachael Champion, Peter Bobby, Paul Johnson, Oreet Ashery, Noah Sherwood, The Hut Project, Eleanor Vonne Brown, Miro Svolik, Michael Lawton, Les Bicknell, Brian Robinson, David Mabb, Manuela Gernedel, Karin Felbermayr, Lucy Woodhouse, Richard Whitby, Rachel Cattle & Steve Richards, Phil Coy, Melanie Manchot, Mary Lister, Sunil Gupta, Tim Blake, Michael Eden, Laura Eldret, Margarita Gluzberg, Lee Moon, Laurence Harding, Jonathan Allen, Laura Halsey Brown, Juliette Blightman & Harry Burke, Laura Halsey Brown, Keith Farquhar, Jonathan Kipps, John Timberlake,

Dan Watkins, John Paul Evans, Ella Finer, Alistair MacKinven, Eleanor Wright, Ian Segrave, Benedict Drew, Jack Strange, David Osbaldeston, Graham Fagan, David Burrows, Emma Talbot, Lindsay Seers, Mark Couzens, Paul Eastwood, Sandy Christie, David Panos, Julian Woollatt, Nike Savvas, Fiona Banner, Alice Theobald, OUTPOST feat. Mike Harvey, Amy McKenny, Manalo & White, Nastassja Simensky, Liam Cosford, Eddie Peake, Dave Hanger, Carlos Noronha Feio.

The project is produced in collaboration with Fraser Muggeridge studio.

‘Graphics Interchange Format: 25 Years of Focal Point Gallery’ will launch with an event at Focal Point Gallery on Saturday 18 July, 6.00pm to 9.00pm